fuel gauge not working

Loom, lights, gauges, indicators & wiring

fuel gauge not working

Postby crankshaft77 » Tue May 17, 2016 4:11 pm

Hi guys.I can't get my fuel gauge to read as it stays at empty. I,ve took the wire off the sender unit which is brand new and earthed it of the car and the gauge goes up to full! I had a spare clock laying around I even changed the gauge over from it and still no joy! Haven't got a clue what to try next. Can someone who has experienced this problem or some knowledgeable person help me on this issue? Thanks.
crankshaft77
.
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:52 pm

Northern Ireland (nb)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby Panky » Tue May 17, 2016 4:41 pm

The gauge and wiring sounds OK so it must be the sender. Try connecting a wire from one of the fixing screws to earth and see if that works, if it doesn't then it's either a dodgy sender or it's stuck :(
Image
User avatar
Panky
.
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 6:00 pm
Location: Cheshire

United Kingdom (uk) UK England (.g)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby crankshaft77 » Tue May 17, 2016 5:48 pm

Thanks panky I,ll give that a try.
crankshaft77
.
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:52 pm

Northern Ireland (nb)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby Big Jim » Tue May 17, 2016 7:10 pm

Has the tank been left empty for a while ? The float can stick in the down position giving a permanent empty reading .
User avatar
Big Jim
.
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 6:46 pm
Location: Wolverhampton , England
Awards: 1
Contributions 2016 (1)

Great Britain (GB)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby crankshaft77 » Wed May 18, 2016 1:36 pm

Well tryed earthing it and still no joy! I don't believe its stuck neither its a new sender the second sender that I bought. As for installing the sender its just a matter of setting it in and putting the cork gasket on and bolts! Am I right?
crankshaft77
.
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:52 pm

Northern Ireland (nb)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby Big Jim » Wed May 18, 2016 2:17 pm

Is there one of these fitted, voltage stabiliser ? I don't have a wiring diagram .I had one go on an MGB years ago . It was fitted to bulkhead up behind the dash somewhere .
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Smiths-Gauges ... SwgQ9Vp1~8
User avatar
Big Jim
.
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 6:46 pm
Location: Wolverhampton , England
Awards: 1
Contributions 2016 (1)

Great Britain (GB)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby crankshaft77 » Wed May 18, 2016 2:47 pm

Yes jim there is a voltage stabiliser on the top off the speedo. I,ve changed that with another spare clock I have thought that might be broke!
crankshaft77
.
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:52 pm

Northern Ireland (nb)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby Big Jim » Wed May 18, 2016 3:47 pm

It sounds like you have checked everything so it's got to be something you have overlooked ? I still recon it is the sender , bad earth or bad earth from tank to body.
Good luck
User avatar
Big Jim
.
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 6:46 pm
Location: Wolverhampton , England
Awards: 1
Contributions 2016 (1)

Great Britain (GB)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby crankshaft77 » Wed May 18, 2016 4:28 pm

Could possibly be a bad earth between the body and the tank problem is the screws that hold the tank the heads are gone don't fancy grinding them off incase I get blew up lol. :D
crankshaft77
.
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:52 pm

Northern Ireland (nb)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby crankshaft77 » Wed May 18, 2016 5:37 pm

Can anyone tell me how many wires should go onto the voltage stabiliser on the back of the speedometer? Are has anyone a diagram of the voltage stabiliser please?
crankshaft77
.
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:52 pm

Northern Ireland (nb)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby Big Jim » Wed May 18, 2016 5:45 pm

On MGB it was two . B= battery , I= instrument .
User avatar
Big Jim
.
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 6:46 pm
Location: Wolverhampton , England
Awards: 1
Contributions 2016 (1)

Great Britain (GB)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby bmcecosse » Wed May 18, 2016 6:05 pm

If you earth the wire at the tank - it WILL read full if wired up correctly. It's a hot wire gauge (I assume since you are using a voltage stabiliser...?) - so give it time to respond Nothing to do with 'sender'. If it doesn't - then it's either 'broke' (sic) or not wired correctly.
 









Image
User avatar
bmcecosse
Deceased Member
Deceased Member
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 6:53 pm
Location: ML9
Awards: 2
Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2014 (1)


Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby crankshaft77 » Thu May 19, 2016 6:10 pm

Hi yes its a black gauge the hotwire one.
crankshaft77
.
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:52 pm

Northern Ireland (nb)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby crankshaft77 » Sat May 28, 2016 10:56 am

Well I bought yet another sender unit and this one finally works! Well sort of lol my tank is full of fuel yet it stops at half full I,m thinking maybe faulty gauge tho I tryed the old spare and its reading the same! Any thoughts?
crankshaft77
.
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:52 pm

Northern Ireland (nb)

Re: fuel gauge not working

Postby bmcecosse » Sat May 28, 2016 6:44 pm

The green wires go on the Lucar male connectors - and the light green (to the sender) on the female Lucar on the volts stabiliser. If you have anything else connected to the females - it may drag the volts down too low.
 









Image
User avatar
bmcecosse
Deceased Member
Deceased Member
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 6:53 pm
Location: ML9
Awards: 2
Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2014 (1)


Next

Return to Electrics, Instrumentation & Security



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests