Simple two-way roll system

Just like it says, Top Tips & FAQ's

Simple two-way roll system

Postby Paul Dee » Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:44 pm

Hello all! Newbie here.

I know you like pictures, so let's kick off by seeing if one appears:

Bingo! That's a big one.

I thought some might be interested in this configuration for getting a Minor up. It's very cheap :). I'll have to go outside and measure the height of the logs, because the body will go up to 90 degrees  if it rests safely on tyres. This height is important so the sill clears the ground. I can lift the car up from horizontal by myself - the car is stripped but for the doors, boot lid, bonnet and glass.

I do it in two stages. First (the harder one) it goes up a bit and then sits on a tall log under the crossmember end. Then it's an easy lift the rest of the way. I'll measure the height of this log as well.

Same at the back:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

The 4x2 extension triangles are just to stop the logs tipping over as the lift begins, since there would be a degree of horizontal force.

The logs have to be good, of course. Something on the hard side, like oak. I fashioned a channel for the bumper brackets to sit in. An option is to form a metal plate (1.5mm?), with a corresponding channel to fit the channel in the log. Then the bumper bracket would sit on the metal, and I reckon there'd be even less chance of the log splitting.

If the log heights are just right, the body can be almost touching the ground when it's at 90 degrees. Or one could go for more clearance, and insert planks under the sills when the car is up. That way, the car cannot fall vertically.

I like this roll-up method, because I can be welding under the floor, quickly drop it down (crossmember end on to to the taller log, not all the way down) to check or do something, and flip it back up.