welder problem

Just like it says, Top Tips & FAQ's

welder problem

Postby ruairidh » Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:48 pm

Hope somebody can help me out as this is driving me nuts.
When I am using the welder it seems to trip the circuit breaker.
It only does it erratically when I press the trigger.
Circuit breaker is a 32amp in garage then another in house it does not trip the house one.
Could I put a bigger circuit breaker in as the control unit in garage is 63amp rated. :?
Be all you can be
User avatar
ruairidh
.
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:46 pm
Location: ochiltree, scotland
Awards: 2
Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1)

Scotland (sf) UK Northern Ireland (ek)

Postby woodywoodchipper » Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:15 pm

What type of welder is it Campbell,

most domestic's will run on 13amp fuse, so am surprised it tripping 36 trip,

check the earth return from the gun back into the welder, it may have got snatched/pulled, have done it to my own several times,

also check the power lead is connected and tight inside the welder,(unplug it 1st) :lol:

let me know what you find,

A,
Image

When its done its done (for now)
Derv Turbo Power (Joosed)
User avatar
woodywoodchipper
.
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 5:11 pm
Location: up to my neck in dudu
Awards: 6
Contributions 2011 (1) Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1) Contributions 2015 (1) Contributions 2016 (1)
Contributions 2017 (1)

United Kingdom (uk) UK Lancashire (lk)

Postby Custard » Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:17 pm

If the garage is fed through the house I would not up the breaker in the garage as it tripping first saves the house tripping and the hassle that entails especially if others are watching tv using the pc etc. Not to mention the safety issue of drawing more current through the house wiring.

Also although the breaker may be up to it the wiring to the socket you are using may not be up to the higher load and if it is not a new to you welder and it has worked ok before then it is more likely a problem with the welder.

Though usually a MIG has a thermal cutout. Mine will trip if running longwelds at full power, never done it on a car though only trailer or other things 3mm steel 6 inch weld without stopping.

I did once have a problem that did not trip the breaker, but it caused the house lights to flash and that was traced to a bad connection in the kitchen between normal wire and the armoured that went underground to the garage.

Could be worth checking the socket, plug etc for loose connections/corrosion.

Sean.
User avatar
Custard
.
 
Posts: 2152
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:17 pm
Location: Blackpool
Awards: 4
Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1) Contributions 2016 (1) Contributions 2017 (1)

Ireland (ie)

Postby knockdolian » Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:21 pm

Is it the circuit breaker that goes or an RCD ? I ask because some people mistake RCDs for fuses. Sorry if this is a stupid question  :oops:
knockdolian
.
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:11 pm


Postby woodywoodchipper » Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:59 pm

not stupid, hadn't thought of that 1 :wink:

A,
Image

When its done its done (for now)
Derv Turbo Power (Joosed)
User avatar
woodywoodchipper
.
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 5:11 pm
Location: up to my neck in dudu
Awards: 6
Contributions 2011 (1) Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1) Contributions 2015 (1) Contributions 2016 (1)
Contributions 2017 (1)

United Kingdom (uk) UK Lancashire (lk)

Postby MM » Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:39 pm

MIG welders contain huge transformers, which generate a large back EMF when switched on and off (similar to an ignition coil), which is probably what's causing your circuit breaker to trip. ;)
Maurice, Kent.
1970 Trafalgar Blue Traveller

http://retrorides.proboards.com/index.c ... read=37056
User avatar
MM
.
 
Posts: 3634
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:15 pm


Postby Linear.audio » Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:05 pm

Or..... It could be a faulty RCD! Can you plug it in somewhere else and see if it blows the relevant rcd? Or is there anyway anything else in the garage might have an earth drain which is already putting the rcd near its limit? Or..... My favourite rcd killer- is there a fried spider or earwig in the plug? Had this many times :wink:
Image
Err... Now where was I?
Linear.audio
.
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:15 pm
Location: Essex, nearly Suffolk


Postby ruairidh » Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:50 pm

Thanks for all the help and suggestions.
It has done it since I have had it, the guy I bought it of I think had a 2 or 3 phase set up in his garage.
Unfortunately he is dead so can't ask him and I don't have a manual.
It is a sip150 if that helps.
There is an extension with 2 angle grinders plugged in but would not think that would cause an earth drain.
Linearaudio my mate did mention it could be the RCD. :?
Be all you can be
User avatar
ruairidh
.
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:46 pm
Location: ochiltree, scotland
Awards: 2
Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1)

Scotland (sf) UK Northern Ireland (ek)

Postby woodywoodchipper » Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:18 pm

I use a sip 150 with no problems, so may need to look elswhere,

but do check the gun return earth to welder, as i have pulled mine a couple of times and triped the fuse,

A,
Image

When its done its done (for now)
Derv Turbo Power (Joosed)
User avatar
woodywoodchipper
.
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 5:11 pm
Location: up to my neck in dudu
Awards: 6
Contributions 2011 (1) Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1) Contributions 2015 (1) Contributions 2016 (1)
Contributions 2017 (1)

United Kingdom (uk) UK Lancashire (lk)

Postby knockdolian » Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:03 pm

As said plug it in in another socket. House one on an extension lead se if that blows anything
knockdolian
.
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:11 pm


Postby blue » Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:04 pm

Do it trip when you press the button but not welding?
blue
I beat the Great MMO Challenge!
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:27 pm
Location: Lowestoft
Awards: 1
Contributions 2013 (1)


Postby ruairidh » Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:47 pm

Yes it trips it when I am not welding and just as I am about to weld.
Will try plugging welder in to extension then in to waterproof outside plug which is connected to the kitchen ring main.
When the new control unit was put in the electrician suggested as there was a spare rcb that the kitchen could go on its own. :)
Be all you can be
User avatar
ruairidh
.
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:46 pm
Location: ochiltree, scotland
Awards: 2
Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1)

Scotland (sf) UK Northern Ireland (ek)

Postby ruairidh » Sat Nov 09, 2013 5:47 pm

Think I have found problem it must be the breaker as I plugged welder into extension then in to outdoor socket which is on kitchen ring main and it was fine.
Will hopefully get one tomorrow at tool station. :)
Be all you can be
User avatar
ruairidh
.
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:46 pm
Location: ochiltree, scotland
Awards: 2
Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1)

Scotland (sf) UK Northern Ireland (ek)

Postby ruairidh » Sat Nov 09, 2013 9:16 pm

Faulty breaker :?:
Image
Click to see full size image
Be all you can be
User avatar
ruairidh
.
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:46 pm
Location: ochiltree, scotland
Awards: 2
Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1)

Scotland (sf) UK Northern Ireland (ek)

Pic of welder

Postby ruairidh » Sat Nov 09, 2013 9:22 pm

My welder.

Image
Click to see full size image
Be all you can be
User avatar
ruairidh
.
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:46 pm
Location: ochiltree, scotland
Awards: 2
Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1)

Scotland (sf) UK Northern Ireland (ek)

Next

Return to FAQ's & Top Tips



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest